FBE Announces the Honorees of the 2019 Outstanding Teacher Awards and of the S. Warren Farrell Award for Educational Excellence

Show all
thumbnail of 2019 OTA Winners Press Release

View as PDF

The Foundation for Belmont Education (FBE) is delighted to announce the recipients of the 2019 Outstanding Teacher Awards and the S. Warren Farrell Award for Educational Excellence, sponsored by Belmont Savings Bank Foundation. Recipients were selected among nominations submitted by students, parents, colleagues, and community members.

Outstanding Teachers are recognized for their excellence in the classroom and for consistently making a difference in the lives of Belmont’s students. The S. Warren Farrell Award for Educational Excellence recognizes a teacher for longstanding dedication and leadership in Belmont’s public schools.

2019 Outstanding Teacher Honorees

Mark Abruzzese, Belmont High School, Chemistry

“Mr. Abruzesse’s enthusiasm about chemistry keeps the atmosphere positive and encouraging. He has a great sense of humor and vibe.”

Bhuvana Kaushik, Chenery Middle School, Math, Grade 6

Ms. Kaushik is an outstanding role model and I’m proud to be her student!”

Ellen Levy, Butler Elementary School, Kindergarten

She leads by example, with kindness and enthusiastic support, which inspires her
students to achieve.”

Kelly Mastalong, Belmont High School, Social Studies

Ms. Mastalong brings energy and enthusiasm to every lesson, even on the dreariest of mornings. She relates all historical events back to modern issues and makes them relevant to our lives.

Colleen McBride, Wellington Elementary School, Grade 2

She has a unique gift for teaching. She fosters kindness and gratitude and it truly becomes a part of each child who leaves that classroom.

Sarah Pierson, Burbank Elementary School, Grade 3

Ms. Pierson takes the time to get to know each of her students. She has a very good sense of each child’s strengths and weaknesses and strategizes to find creative ways of eliciting their very best work.”

Nicole Torniero, Winn Brook Elementary School, Grade 2

She has mastered the art of quickly learning what each individual student needs to learn and achieve and differentiates her lessons and practices to meet these needs.”

2019 S. Warren Farrell Award Honoree

Leon Dyer, Chenery Middle School, Technology Education

Mr. Dyer is the heart and soul of Chenery. No one does more extracurricular activities or positively impacts more students. He recognizes that kids are more than just students – they are individuals with dreams, goals, and passions.

Awards Ceremony

The ceremony to honor this year’s recipients of the Outstanding Teacher and the S. Warren Farrell Awards will be held on Thursday, May 2, from 6:00–7:30 pm at the Chenery Middle School. The award celebration, sponsored by Belmont Savings Bank Foundation, is open to the public.